Intel® FPGA University Program
University Program Material, Education Boards, and Laboratory Exercises
1174 Discussions

cyclone 2 LPM_COUNTER begginer problem

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hello im new to the whole fpga programming scenario and im trying to implemnent a niosII processor on a cycloneII FPGA(on a DE2 board). 

in addition to my niosII processor i require some sort of additional circuitry to divide my 50Mhz clock signal to 100Hz. I was trying to do this using the LPM_COUNTER megafunction. I was able to create an up counter with a 26bit output but my problem is to get a single output of that to my processor. Im using the block diagram editor. 

My counter output is a 26bit bus so i cant just take the 24th pin and connect it to an input in my processor. 

I just want to get a single input to my processor after 500000 counts. How can i achive this with the LPM_COUNTER? or any other circuit? (besides building the whole divider using logic) 

please help :(
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Please PLL, not LPM_COUNTER

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

PLL will work for sure if you dnt want to peep into count stuffs,but if you want to use LPM_COUNT then i think it wont work 

Actually I feel that if you want to connect with counter policy then use logic,it will be more easy than using mega function 

reason: 

Suppose you take 5 bit count (0 to 31),and for the required output clock,you need to stop your count at 30,then using megafunction,how will you achieve this?because if your count is 5 bit then it will be reset only after 31 only not in between (in case of up counter) 

But using your own logic,you can provide condition to stop after some count to get exact frequency. After that you can create block symbol from that hdl file. 

i have attached one verilog file and test bench based on your question,i think it will work for 50 mhz input and 100 hz output 

Hope this will help you.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum