Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28381 Discussions

Assertion failed (shared/driver/drvutils.c, line 535)

rgeary
Beginner
I have VC++ 2005 Express installed on XP Pro and recently downloaded Intel's C++ Compiler 9.1 with a 30-day trial license expiring 14-Jan-07. I am aware that I can only use Intel's compiler at the command prompt with VC++ Express. However, no matter what cpp file I give it, it gives me the error message:

icl: internal error: Assertion failed (shared/driver/drvutils.c, line 535)

I'm new to programming in general, but I did have success with the same compilerusing VC++ 6.0 shortly before reinstalling XP (for unrelated reasons) and installing VC++ Express instead. I have also successfully used the Linux version of the compiler on the same machine (different partition).

Thanks,

Robert

0 Kudos
9 Replies
JenniferJ

Did you run "icl" from the command window created from the menu [start]> ....... >[build environment for IA32 application...]? If not, you should run the [install-dir]compilerC++9.1ia32iniclvars.bat from the command window.

For console program, it should work.

Jennifer

0 Kudos
sabor
Beginner
I faced something similar when dealing with the Itanium compiler...I uninstalled the compiler, installed PSDK 3790 from Microsoft, installed the compilers and after that, everything worked fine.
0 Kudos
rgeary
Beginner

Did you run "icl" from the command window created from the menu [start]> ....... >[build environment for IA32 application...]? If not, you should run the [install-dir]compilerC++9.1ia32iniclvars.bat from the command window.

For console program, it should work.

Jennifer