Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28381 Discussions

Calling C DLL from Fortran in Visual Studio 2017 / Fortran Interface Definition

FloBa
Novice

Dear Intel Community, 

I am using Intel Parallel Studio XE 2019 Composer Edition for Fortran and Visual Studio 2017 for the development of a simulation software. In this context, I received a Dynamic Link Library written in C, which I need to integrate in my Fortran project. Also, a header file to the DLL was provided. 

First of all, I know there are a lot of similar topics to be found in the web and this forum, however, I cannot really make head nor tail of them, as I'm not a professional programmer. 

What I figured out so far is that there are two options for linking the DLL, dynamic run time and load time. In order to do the latter, as it seemed less complicated to me to aim for load time linking, I created a .lib-file according to  the instructions given here:

https://asawicki.info/news_1420_generating_lib_file_for_dll_library

Now, I need to know how exactly  I can relate the three files (lib,dll,header) to my Fortran project? 

Furthermore, I'm not sure how to correctly define the interface for the Fortran call to a C function from the DLL. I found some examples in the Development Reference Guide under Mixed Language Programming (and standard-fortran-and-c-interoperability and standard-tools-for-interoperability/procedures ) but to be honest I cannot transfer it to my use case.  Would it be possible for someone here to generate an example Fortran interface definition for one of the functions contained in the DLL?  I attached all the files in the zip file.

Thank you very much in advance, any help is much appreciated!

Regards,

Florian

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
Steve_Lionel
Honored Contributor III