Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Equivalence statements and compile times

David_P_1
Beginner

Hello,

I'm somewhat new to Fortran and I had several questions. I'm currently trying to integrate a generated Fortran codebase to operate off a segment of memory passed to it from a C++ environment. One of my goals is to make as little change to the Fortran codebase as possible. I've been able to get several small scale examples of this method working fine with the C_PTR type with a derived type and also passing a byte array, but the problems arise with the compile times once I use the full size of the memory to be shared. The amount of memory I'm trying to share is about 15MB in size with about 800,000 variables of different types mapped against it. I'm pretty sure my approach of mapping these variables to be compatible with the generated codebase is the cause of the long compile times which last for days. I also imagine I'm not using the best practices for this problem.

For my first method, I created a large derived type containing all the variables that is passed through an exposed library function into the Fortran library from an identically defined struct in the C++ environment. To make that derived type compatible with the generated Fortran codebase I created a file that is #include'd so that the preprocessor replaces variables names that are #define'd to refer to a member of the large shared derived type. This compilation lasts for days and I never saw it to completion.