Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28386 Discussions

F77, F77_OPTIONS, INCLUDE_DIRS, LD_OPTIONS_NETCDF

negar
New Contributor I

Hello

I have just installed Ubuntu 18.04 LTS on my laptop and I'm new to this. I am required to run my Model which is called IBIS, so I have to install g77 or f77. I could not install these compilers. Finally, I installed fort 77.  Then, I am trying to compile my Model with the NetCDF library. The environment variable which is needed to compile my model is: F77, F77_OPTIONS, INCLUDE_DIRS, LD_OPTIONS_NETCDF  
 Could anybody help me how can I determine these variable?

Thanks 

Negar.T

0 Kudos
10 Replies
Arjen_Markus
Honored Contributor I

I do not know the software you mention, IBIS, but the environment variables you mention indicate that you have to build the software using a makefile. Typically, such a makefile is parameterised to make things flexible. Here is my guess at the meaning:

F77 - the Fortran (or better FORTRAN) compiler you want to use. That will be "ifort" (without the quotation marks), make sure that ifort is in your PATH.

F77_OPTIONS - any additional options, like -g for debugging or -O2 for optimisation and the like

INCLUDE_DIRS - that could be anything, but I guess the directories that contain your extra included files.

LD_OPTIONS_NETCDF - presumably the option to indicate where the NetCDF library are stored

One way to deal with the problem of finding the right values is to first set the F77 variable and then run make. Detect from the error messages what is now missing and use the above indications to set the remaining environment variables.

Or consult the documentation or the user community of this software :).

negar
New Contributor I

Hello,