Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Fortran compilers compatibility

Mirela_M_
Beginner

Hi, my name is Mirela and I am a PhD student in Economics.

I have to replicate a preexisting code compiled  with Intel 64, Version 11.0.061. The codes also use IMSL Fortran Numerical 
Library, Version 6.0.

I have downloaded Parallel studio 2017 and Visual studio 2017 . However, I cannot build the project as I receive several errors during the building step. Do you think this is caused by the different compilers? If I buy the license for IMSL library can you see any compatibility issues between what I have and the codes I have to replicate?

Thanks

Mirela

0 Kudos
1 Solution
mecej4
Honored Contributor III

Mirela, I think that the problems that you are seeing are caused by an incompatibility with the IMSL modules that came with your IMSL-6 and the Intel 2017 compiler. For details, please see https://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/do-not-use-older-versions-of-imsl-with-intel-visual-fortran-compiler-version-12?wapkw=imsl .

Program RiskAve can be built and run with no problems when the 17.0 or 18.0 compilers are used with IMSL 7.0.1.

The choices for you are:

1. Obtain and install the old 11.1.072 Intel Fortran compiler, which is compatible with your IMSL-6,
  2. Obtain the current version 7.0.1 of IMSL from Intel, or version 7.1 from Roguewave.
  3. Modify your code such that no IMSL modules are needed and such that the implicit interfaces to IMSL routines are correct.

Since your source codes USE the IMSL linear operators module, Choice 3 would require a lot of work. Choice 2 may not be available if you do not wish to pay for a newer version of IMSL. Choice 1 may be the easiest for you, if Intel lets you download the older Fortran compiler.and use it.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
13 Replies
Lorri_M_Intel
Employee