Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28441 Discussions

Fortran makefile circular dependency dropped

josieecon
Beginner

So I am trying to run a Fortran code from someone else with the Intel Fortran compiler on a mac. But when I try to run the corresponding makefile, I get the error messages "make[1]: Circular release.makefile out <- release.makefile dependency dropped." and so on.

I have little knowledge of Fortran, so I would appreciate any help. I already tested to run some simple helloworld.f90 files and makefiles, to rule out that it is a compiler problem, and those work. However, the code I am trying to run is downloaded from a reputable scientific journal, so I assume the code (makefiles and Fortran files) should be correct too, leaving me at loss. This is my first post here, so if I forgot something please let me know.

The makefile is:

release:
    # ENV = /opt/intel/oneapi/setvars.sh intel64
    make -f release.makefile

debug:
    make -f debug.makefile
    dsymutil $(OUT).out

hpcrelease:
    make -f hpcrelease.makefile

pbs:
    make -f pbs.makefile

compilesubmit:
    make -f hpcrelease.makefile
    make -f pbs.makefile
    qsub $(OUT).pbs

.PHONY: clean

clean:
    rm -f *.o *.mod *.MOD *genmod* *~ 
    rm -fr *.dSYM

and the file release.makefile writes:

FC = ifort
FCFLAGS = -m64 -traceback -O3 -qopenmp -implicitnone  -Wl,-stack_size,0x100000000 -L/Users/josie/Desktop/Uni/Economics/Moll/SuiteSparse-master/lib -lumfpack -lamd -lcholmod -lcolamd -lsuitesparseconfig -lblas 
LDFLAFS = -m64 -traceback -O3 -qopenmp -implicitnone  -Wl,-stack_size,0x100000000 -L/Users/josie/Desktop/Uni/Economics/Moll/SuiteSparse-master/lib -lumfpack -lamd -lcholmod -lcolamd -lsuitesparseconfig -lblas 
# -O3

PROG = $(OUT)

MOD = Parameters.o Globals.o umfpack.o Procedures.o