Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Generated Interface Checking required to build with Intel Fortran 2017

Timothy_W_
Beginner

Hi

I am using Intel Fortran Parallel Studio 2017 and Visual Studio 2015.

The code is a mix of C/C++ and Fortran.  There are many fortran projects in the Visual Studio solution.  The Fortran code has been around a while and it is mostly Fortran 77.  I don't have much experience with Fortran but I have been programming for many years, mostly C++.

I have /gen-interfaces turned on and dictate the location of the module files.  My understanding is this command is for diagnostics only.  If Diagnostics::Check Routine Interfaces is Yes, then the generated interfaces ( func_genmod.mod files ) are used to confirm the usage of subroutines are consistent.  It is not used as a replacement for user created modules to define subroutines.

However, I am having linker problems that I can reproduce consistently if I let the mod files be written to the intermediate results directory of each project.  Then externals can't be resolved.  If I store all the mod files in a common modules directory, the program compiles.

I see something like the following in a example.for file:

C Start of example.for

Complex Function somefunction (V, IERR)

include 'if/neededfunc'

call neededfunc()

complex function get_something(fromid, toid, ckt, n)

C No include 'if/neededfunc'

call neededfunc()

C End of example.for

The Microsoft linker complains that:

unresolved external symbol _NEEDEDFUNC@## referenced in function get_something.  The use of neededfunc in the first function defined works because of the include.  The compiler only complains about the second use in function get_something()

The neededfunc subroutine is defined in the same library (but different file) that includes example.for.

C neededfunc file

interface to subroutiine neededfunc