Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

How to loop over derived type contents and print out as textfile

awa5114
Beginner

I am new to Fortran. I would like to develop a subroutine which prints assigned variable information to a large derived type in Fortran 95. To simplify, lets say we have a derived type declaration and assigmnent as follows:

type SubjectType
        character(20) :: genre
        character(20) :: maindude
end type SubjectType

type BookType
        character(20) :: title
        character(20) :: author
        type(SubjectType) :: subject 

end type Booktype

type(Booktype) :: Book

Book%title = "Harry Potter"
Book%author = "JK Rowling"
Book%subject%genre = "Fantasy"
Book%subject%maindude = "Ron Weasley"

I would like the output of my program to be a text file as follows:

Book%title, Harry Potter 

Book%author, JK Rowling 

Book%subject%genre, Fantasy 

Book%subject%maindude, Ron Weasley

In order to achieve this I believe this is what I need to do:

- Determine Number of fields in the derived type at each level. For instance number of fields in the `Booktype` would be 3. Number of fields in `Booktype%SubjectType` would be 2.
 - Find a way to relate the field 'number' to the name of the field (perhaps using pointers?)
 - loop over all the field numbers and get their names and values.

My question here is twofold. First is my approach correct/will it lead to the intended result? Second How do I accomplish step 1 of this procedure. Namely, how do I get the number of fields in the derived type at each level?

0 Kudos
15 Replies
Arjen_Markus
Honored Contributor I

Fortran does not provide this kind of introspection. You will have to program this specifically, though a quick-and-dirty solution is to use list-directed output - you would get a dump of the contents without the labels.