Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Intel compiler for students

Gaggioli__Enzo
Beginner

Hi. I'm a physics student from Argentina. I am writting fortran programs to model some physical processes. I wanted to try the intel compiler, as the computations I am doing are very intensive, and I have seen that the intel compiler is faster thatn the gnu compiler which I am currently using. As running the codes is very time consuming, I think that the intel compiler could save me some time.

However, I have never worked with the intel compiler before, and I'm not sure on how to install it. Moreover, I have a laptop which I use when I am in home. And I have another computer which I use at the university where I study. It is personal, the university bought it for me, and nobody else but me uses that computer. Most of the time I am working on my project, I use the computer at the university. However, some times in the weekends I like to work at my home. And the question is if I can install the student edition of the fortran compiler in both computers: my laptop, and the one at the university, both are for my personal use.

I've also heard that some commands differ in fortran for the intel compiler and for the gfortran compiler (for example, I use a call system and boolean logic to create directories, and I think that the commands I use for that differ for the gnu compiler, and the intel compiler) and I would like to know if there is any resources that lists the different commands I should use in order to go from one compiler to the other, so I can translate whatever needs to be translated.

Kind regards.

0 Kudos
1 Solution
DataScientist
Valued Contributor I