Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Memory usage in fortran( and pointer in fortran)

Heo__Jun-Yeong

Hello, I'm a student studying the geophysical exploration simulation (like modeling the elastic wave equation in FDM, FEM, etc).

I've known that when the simple situation like below,

real(8) :: a(100)
call test(a)
     :
subroutine test(b)
real(8) :: b(:)

in fortran, they allocate new memories in size of 'b' and the values of 'a' are copied to 'b'. After the subroutine is over, the values of 'b' are copied to 'a' and the memories of 'b' are deallocated.
But, what if the size of array 'a' is very large? Allocating new memory in size of 'a' can be memory consuming.

I recently found the pointer in fortran and I wonder about the memory usage of fortran. For example,

integer, pointer :: p1
real(8), pointer :: p2

Do the memory requirements of 'p1' and 'p2' are different? or the same?
Does the memory requirement of pointer is smaller than other types of variables (like real, complex, etc)?
Will it be of help to use subroutines which pass large arrays?

Thank you

0 Kudos
1 Solution
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III

>>But, you mean in that case, fortran does not allocate new memory for 'b', just passing the reference of the 'a' array descriptor.

Allocation or not, use of array descriptor (new or reused) or use of reference to first cell all depend on how you program and the implied (required) code generation of the compiler.