Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.

Missing Runtime error messages

Paul_Felz
New Contributor I

Hi there

I am new to Visual Studio and started to use it only recently. So my question might be stupid, sorry for that.

My problem: I do not receive any illuminating runtime diagnostics.

When an error occurs I get the information that my prog has caused an exception and came to a halt (sorry, I do not know to what the German message translates to in English). Good to know that an error has occurred, I might have missed the fact. But this does not give me any clue what the error might be. In addition on occasion I get informed that a symbol-file for libifcoremdd.dll was not found. What is that good for?

I am using VS 2017 under Windows 11 and followed the instructions on how to configure VS as given in the Intel-help. In Settings/Debugging/Symbols  I selected to load all symbol files and defined an area on my hard drive where to store them.

What am I missing?

Cheers

Norbert

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Steve_Lionel
Honored Contributor III

Is the message you get displayed within Visual Studio? If so, look on your taskbar for a console window that is probably hidden behind Visual Studio. This would have a more descriptive message.

Ignore the message about libifcoremdd.dll.

0 Kudos
Paul_Felz
New Contributor I

Thank you Steve. Yes now I found this console output behind the VS Window. But still, this cannot be the solution to have an IDE that does not share error information. After all, what is the I for in IDE?

Cheers

PF

0 Kudos
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III

The IDE is Microsoft's. The application is a console application with its own window. The error messages are sent to the console window because the application (in production mode) will be run without the IDE. 

Jim Dempsey

0 Kudos
Paul_Felz
New Contributor I

Okay, makes sense.