Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28381 Discussions

Post-edit trigger for edit box in a dialog box

michael_green
Beginner
I need to update the contents of a read-only edit box following the user's input of some value in a different edit box in the same dialog. Can anyone tell me how to do this?

Many thanks
Mike
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Jugoslav_Dujic
Valued Contributor II
You should write a DLG_CHANGE callback routine for the non-read-only edit-box; process the data there and do a DlgSet for the read-only box. See DlgSetSub in the docs and CVF samples. (There are currently two threads going on here on similar subjects, "cursor position in editbox after callback" and "Checking a real number is entered in an edit box" ).

Jugoslav
0 Kudos
michael_green
Beginner
Thanks very much for your swift reply. I have worked hard at this all day without success - but I'm very new to CVF so that might explain it. I'm converting a large F77 program from VMS to a Win32 API application. I have a dialog, itself run from a callback routine, in which the user enters a number which is then used to calculate a target for another part of the dialog. So I've got:

external CalcTarget
select case(message)
case(WM_INITDIALOG)
bret = DlgInit(IDD_Thin1,dlg)
bret = DlgSetSub(dlg,IDC_new,CalcTarget) !This returns .true.

call CenterWindow(hDlg,GetWindow(hDlg,GW_OWNER))

call CalcTarget(dlg,IDC_new,DLG_CHANGE) !This works fine as a manual call ...

... but making a change to the edit box, IDC_new, fails to activate CalcTarget.

I have searched the examples but can only find quickwin or dialog based applications, which seem subtly different - at any rate, I am unable to generalise from them to make my application work. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks in advance
Mike (in Australia)
0 Kudos
isn-removed200637
Have you forgotten to activate the second dialog? (IDD_Thin1) using