Intel® Fortran Compiler
Build applications that can scale for the future with optimized code designed for Intel® Xeon® and compatible processors.
28381 Discussions

.dll compiled from .bat file is not running probably

Omran
Novice

I am relatively new to Fortran.

I am trying to compile several .for files into one .dll using a .bat (see attached).

previously i used to simply double click the .bat file and the .dll is generated. Now a black window popup and closes fast. Then by trying to force the run using oneAPI cmd the .dll does not work as supposed to be.

PS: i used the reguler cmd and and error appears always saying "ifort is not recognized as an internal or external command" although  I have up to date Fortran compiler (classic and beta) from Intel oneAPI

Your help is highly appreciated 

files are attached

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Steve_Lionel
Honored Contributor III

Several things here... First, you can't run a DLL - it's a library that is used by an EXE. Second, to use the compiler from a command prompt you must invoke the setvars.bat script found in C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI  . This is done automatically by the shortcuts added to the start menu, but you can invoke it yourself, like this:

C:\Users\steve>C":\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\setvars.bat" intel64

Note this part of your .bat:

Here, it is assumed the environment is correctly set for 64-bit Intel(R) Visual Fortran compiler

If you just double-click on it, that won't happen.  Add the line:\

call C":\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\setvars.bat" intel64

and it should work.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
Steve_Lionel
Honored Contributor III