Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Beginner

ifort -- passing array of unknown size (subroutine output) to another subroutine

Hi all,

I'm new to Intel MKL. Here's a problem I've come across -- apparently a problem not related to MKL itself, but to the problem of how to declare and pass an array of hitherto unknown size as an output of a subroutine to another subroutine.

I'm trying to use mkl_ddnscsr to convert a matrix to its CSR format suitable for calling by Pardiso:
CALL mkl_ddnscsr(job,Nt,Nt,Adns,Nt,Acsr,ja,ia,info)
CALL PARDISO(pt,1,1,11,13,Nt,Acsr,ia,ja,perm,1,iparm,0,b,x,errr)

Problem is, I have no idea what the length of the CSR form Acsr and the index vector ja before calling the mkl_ddnscsr subroutine. How should one declare Acsr and ja in the main program, or the subroutine where these two lines are located?

I tried something like

INTERFACE
SUBROUTINE mkl_ddnscsr(job, m, n, Adns, lda, Acsr, ja, ia, info)
IMPLICIT NONE
INTEGER :: job(8)
INTEGER :: m, n, lda, info
INTEGER, ALLOCATABLE :: ja(:)
INTEGER :: ia(m+1)
REAL(KIND=8), ALLOCATABLE :: Acsr(:)
REAL(KIND=8) :: Adns(:)
END SUBROUTINE
END INTERFACE
and then
INTEGER, ALLOCATABLE :: ja(:)
REAL(KIND=8), ALLOCATABLE :: Acsr(:)

outside the INTERFACE, in the main program. But this configuration gives me the segmentation fault upon running.

On the other hand, if I try something like

INTERFACE
SUBROUTINE mkl_ddnscsr(job, m, n, Adns, lda, Acsr, ja, ia, info)
IMPLICIT NONE
INTEGER :: job(8)
INTEGER :: m, n, lda, info
INTEGER :: ja(:), ia(m+1)
REAL(KIND=8) :: Acsr(:), Adns(:)
END SUBROUTINE
END INTERFACE

and then

INTEGER, DIMENSION(:) :: ja
REAL(KIND=8), DIMENSION(:) :: Acsr
Then ifort would give me the following message:

error #6596: If a deferred-shape array is intended, then the ALLOCATABLE or POINTER attribute is missing; if an assumed-shape array is intended, the array must be a dummy argument.