Intel® High Level Design
Support for Intel® High Level Synthesis Compiler, DSP Builder, OneAPI for Intel® FPGAs, Intel® FPGA SDK for OpenCL™
663 Discussions

How to list nested functions used in OpenCL kernel in the final report?

m4n1c22
Beginner

Hi,

I am new to Intel Altera.

I am trying to list the resource utilization for the nested functions.

Lets consider the following example:

int foo(int a) { ... }   //Kernel function void my_kernel_function( // Input and output matrices __global int *axi, // Widths of matrices. int A_width) { int a; a = foo(axi[0]); .... }

When I generate the report after running the aoc compiler, I am not a getting detailed report containing utilization from "foo" function but, only from my_kernel function. I believe this is because of compiler inlining the functions.

How can make changes in the program to adapt and find the necessary resources for the same?

0 Kudos
4 Replies
MEIYAN_L_Intel
Employee

Hi,

May I have the full design code and I would like to compile at my side for further investigate?

Also, may I know the information as below:

1. OS version
  2. OpenCL SDK edition and version

Thanks

0 Kudos
m4n1c22
Beginner

Hi,

1. OS Version - CentOS Linux release 7.7.1908 (core)
  2. OpenCL SDK edition and version - Intel(R) FPGA SDK for OpenCL(TM). version 18.1.2 Build 277 Pro Edition
  3. The target board is pac_s10_dc

My code is a test code not a real project more like a helloworld program for testing nested functions. I have attached the source code as a zip along with this post.

You can run the cl file after unzipping it with the following compiler options:

aoc -rtl -report -v -board=pac_s10_dc -fp-relaxed -fpc test_nesed_functions.cl

Thanks

0 Kudos
HRZ
Valued Contributor III