Intel® ISA Extensions
Use hardware-based isolation and memory encryption to provide more code protection in your solutions.

Help an Assembler Noob, it's good karma

tyrch
Beginner
Yes, I'm a noob. I admit it. I'm taking a summer course in assembler, the prof is useless and doesn't seem to have the knowledge to teach this course. We're working with the 8088/8086 processor instruction set. I have a ton of questions and so far no answers so any help and tips you would like to pass on would be appreciated and passed on to other poor students of this class.

1) MOV DEST,SOURCE .. got it. It's an intel syntax standard. However with the direction bit, this can change the position of source and dest thereby creating a whole new value for the same code. eg. 89C3h and 8BD8h produce the same instruction of MOV BX,AX. Is one more correct than the other, or is it like ansi C where there are a million ways to produce the same results?

2) (MOV) Immediate to Register/Memory vs. Immediate to Register. These to opcodes look like they do the same function in regards to move to register. Is one prefered to another? Are there advantages to using one vs. the other? The book is very vague and the teacher still has yet to answer me.

3) Writing to floppy... (W) command is this even useful anymore?

I know I'll have more questions, as I read more through this book (The 8088 and 8086 Microprocessors: Programing,Interfacing,Software,Hardware, and Application 4th Ed. written by Walter A Triebel). If anyone has any suggestions on a better book, possibily one that explains more in detail the opcodes and when and where to use them, instead of scattered through-out the book that would be great.
0 Kudos
6 Replies
capens__nicolas
New Contributor I
Quoting - tyrch