Intel® Integrated Performance Primitives
Deliberate problems developing high-performance vision, signal, security, and storage applications.

Porting Ipp6 to Ipp8

Pavel_Kogan
Beginner

Hi all, 

I am new to Ipp and have tiny experience with ImageProcessing. I need to port old code which is using Ipp6 to our new project. I need some help with ippiResize_8u_C1R function (IPPI_INTER_CUBIC interpolation). What is the most correct way to port it, if I want to get exactly same pixels value after resize. In new Ipp Resize api I see completely new terminology like "spec", "external buffer" and also in function ippiResizeCubicInit_8u I need to define A, B, C and I don't have a clue what their value was in original old function.

Thanks,  Pavel

0 Kudos
14 Replies
Jeffrey_M_Intel1
Employee

These articles are getting a bit rusty, but they may help:

http://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/resize-changes-in-intel-ipp-71
http://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/threading-intel-integrated-performance-primitives-image-resize-with-intel-threading

As a basic summary IPP has moved to separate functions for the different interpolation algorithms instead of keeping them all in 1 big resize function as back in IPP 6.  Hopefully these articles will help you with things like initialization.  Since algorithms have changed somewhat you may not be able to get exactly the same pixel values but the overall result should be similar. 

0 Kudos
Jeffrey_M_Intel1
Employee

For the B and C parameters, this could be a start: 

http://software.intel.com/sites/products/documentation/doclib/ipp_sa/71/ipp_manual/IPPI/ippi_appendices/ippi_appB_Cubic2PInterpolation.htm

There is a short list of options -- you may need to do some experimentation to find the best match.

0 Kudos
Pavel_Kogan
Beginner

Hi Jeffrey,

Thanks you for your help. Do you know if there is some place I can find a source code of  ResizeSqrPixel function?

Thanks, Pavel

0 Kudos
Jeffrey_M_Intel1
Employee