cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
AGUIM2
New Contributor I

Bluetooth status checking in Arduino IDE

hello everybody,

I'm a new user of intel edison, so i've a question: Does anyone know with intruction/library to use for checking the bluetooth status in Arduino IDE?

Thanks!

7 Replies
Pedro_M_Intel
Employee

Hello Guimficus,

What exactly do you mean by the Bluetooth status? What exactly do you want to see in the Arduino IDE? Could you explain us what you are trying to achieve?

Peter.

AGUIM2
New Contributor I

Hy Peter,

Thanks for your reply. In my application I want to use Bluetooth, Wifi or Ethernet network to sent a text file to my phone (bluetooth by default). But as I've said, I'm just a beginner with Intel Edison and the language that I'm conformtable is Arduino language or C/C++. So, I want first, to start the Edison BT and check if it's really connected before choose another network connexion (wifi or ethernet) : that's what I mean by bluetooth status. I've seen many linux command to it in this pdf http://download.intel.com/support/edison/sb/edisonbluetooth_331704004.pdf http://download.intel.com/support/edison/sb/edisonbluetooth_331704004.pdf but I don't know how to include them in my arduino program.

Thank you for your help

Pedro_M_Intel
Employee

I understand, doing this from the Arduino IDE is not the best approach (at least that's my opinion, I personally like working from Linux) but it can be done. Are you trying to connect to a device that has not been paired (in that case, it would be better to do manually or it'd get complex) or are you trying to set up Linux and connect to an already paired device?

Setting up Edison's Bluetooth interface from the Arduino IDE is actually easy you can do it with the command:

system("rfkill unblock bluetooth");

Under the setup section. To scan for Bluetooth devices and send the output to the IDE's serial monitoryou can use the command:

system("hcitool scan > /dev/ttyGS0");