Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SAnde9
New Contributor II
9,896 Views

Galileo Debian v1.2 image

After a long, busy summer, I have just uploaded v1.2 of the Galileo Debian image to the sourceforge project site https://sourceforge.net/projects/galileodebian/files/latest/download?source=files https://sourceforge.net/projects/galileodebian/files/latest/download?source=files

This image provides a lot of improvements over the previous releases:

  • Updated to Debian 7.6 (Wheezy)
  • Support for both Gen 1 and Gen 2 boards
  • Boots without having to modify the EFI settings
  • Works with the USB client port as well as the serial port
    • shows up on Linux and Windows as a ACM serial device
  • Updated the Linux kernel to the 1.0.1 Galileo release of 3.8.7
  • Re-sizable to the size of your SD card
    • can be done from the Galileo itself
    • see the project wiki for documentation
  • Includes the drivers for the USB RoboPeak display device
  • built-in support for Ext 2,3 & 4
  • Many other USB drivers (including sound) are also enabled.
  • 100% Debian package based
    • repository provided with the Galileo specific packages

If you are currently running the v1.1 image, then you can upgrade to this release with these commands

apt-get update

apt-get dist-upgrade

78 Replies
DPose
New Contributor II
107 Views

Hummm ... yeah Stuart it looked to me like it was trying to use the wrong modules too. Don't know how that situation could occur though. I even tried the experiment on a different target in a lab that is physically dislocated from my own. I scp'ed the galileo-1.2.img file to a machine in at the remote site and then had a buddy there stick a blank uSD card in that machine's card reader. Then I shelled in and executed:

dd if=./galileo-1.2.img of=/dev/sdb1 bs=10MB

Then I had the guy at the remote move the uSD over to the target and I connected to it's console via minicom. After he hit reboot for me I got the exact same failures. I'm sure it's booting the Debian image because when it falls into the ramdisk kernel it says so.

I'll investigate the partitioning on the uSD. I was using those same cards in an attempt to setup Debian with the debootstrap method.Maybe there is some weirdness let over from that. But the card that was used at the remote was right out of the blister pack I'm pretty sure.

Thank for the help,

Dallas

EDIT: I've tried this on a couple different blank cards with the same results. Gotta be a firmware issue seems to me. Somehow the hardware must be getting setup differently. I also made an attempt to get the Debian image to work using the debootstrap method described here: . I had similar issues with that using the recommended host yocto image (http://downloadmirror.intel.com/24000/eng/LINUX_IMAGE_FOR_SD_Intel_Galileo_v1.0.2.zip http://downloadmirror.intel.com/24000/eng/LINUX_IMAGE_FOR_SD_Intel_Galileo_v1.0.2.zip). When I fell back to the 1.0.1.1 image however, I did get it to boot all the way down to a BASH prompt in Debian. However, there were still module issues. The ethernet driver fails to load again complaining about missing symbols etc. But bash is running, apt tries to run (can't find any repositories of course), ifconfig shows the loopback interface etc.

To me this lends credence to the "old firmware" hypothesis as an earlier kernel works better. Is there a way to determine the firmware version from BASH? Or some other way outside of Arduino?

AAlek11
Novice
107 Views

I read that http://sourceforge.net/p/galileodebian/wiki/How%20to%20Boot%20the%20image/ here that we have to interrupt Galileo's boot sequence so we can boot Debian. We are told to press F2/F7 keys, but how can we possibly see galileo booting if we have access to it via shell (using Serial/Telnet/SSH) once we update a Sketch configuring it?

Matthias_H_Intel
Employee
107 Views

you would need to connect serial. On Gen1 via the audio Jack, on Gen2 via UART connector

BLaks
Beginner
107 Views

@StuartAnderson,

Good job, I appreciate it.

Im currently using your image in my galileo, but my robo peak USB display is not working when connected.

I checked if the driver is installed using lsmod and i was surprised that it was not installed.

Can you help me in this regard?

[ 78.648684] ohci_hcd 0000:00:14.4 bad entry e48e080

KEckh
Valued Contributor III
107 Views

As I was having issues with Yocto not seeing my devices on the USB on my Galileo G2, I thought I would try out the Debian build. Thanks!

Took two attempts, the first one downloaded the 1.0... build, Tried again and again it wanted to download the 1.0 file, so went to files and found the 1.2 version and downloaded it.

Used GParted to expand partition...

My first attempt it worked that it saw my devices (note I plugged them in after I booted. Found and created the USB2AX and created ttyACM0, found FTDI serial cable created ttyUSB0 and I think saw an Edimax USB wifi.... So I rebooted with the USB hub plugged in and it wants to hang (or at least take forever to boot).

Booting 'Debian GNU/Linux, with Linux 3.8.7'

Loading Linux 3.8.7 ...

Loading initial ramdisk ...

error: no suitable mode found.

Booting however

[ 2.097449] console [ttyS1] enabled, bootconsole disabled

[ 2.114743] brd: module loaded

[ 2.127255] loop: module loaded

[ 2.131559] lpc_sch_probe BIOS_CNTL 0x00000101

[ 2.136076] lpc_sch_probe new BIOS_CNTL 0x00000101

[ 2.141052] lpc_sch_probe RCBA @ 0xfed1c000

[ 2.151907] rtc_cmos 00:01: RTC can wake from S4

[ 2.161095] rtc_cmos 00:01: rtc core: registered rtc_cmos as rtc0

[ 2.167549] rtc0: alarms up to one day, 242 bytes nvram, hpet irqs

[ 2.174547] cpuidle: using governor ladder

[ 2.178715] cpuidle: using governor menu

[ 2.183096] sdhci: Secure Digital Host Controller Interface driver

[ 2.189363] sdhci: Copyright(c) Pierre Ossman

[ 2.194118] sdhci-pci 0000:00:14.0: SDHCI controller found [8086:08a7] (rev 10)

[ 2.250436] mmc0: SDHCI controller on PCI [0000:00:14.0] using ADMA

[ 2.257812] sdhci-pltfm: SDHCI platform and OF driver helper

[ 2.278936] eSRAM: CTRL 0x047f3f91 block 0x00000000

[ 2.283999] eSRAM: pages 128

[ 2.310813] intel_qrk_esram_test_probe/Sep 8 2014/03:48:09 complete OK !!

[ 2.323045] TCP: cubic registered

[ 2.326430] NET: Registered protocol family 17

[ 2.334155] Using IPI Shortcut mode

[ 2.355354] Magic number: 6:124:287

[ 2.359566] tty tty20: hash matches

[ 2.363531] rtc_cmos 00:01: setting system clock to 2014-11-09 16:17:47 UTC (1415549867)

[ 2.389072] mmc0: new high speed SDHC card at address b368

[ 2.395498] Freeing unused kernel memory: 312k freed

[ 2.408145] Write protecting the kernel text: 3424k

[ 2.414355] Write protecting the kernel read-only data: 1316k

[ 2.420289] NX-protecting the kernel data: 2720k

[ 2.427577] mmcblk0: mmc0:b368 USD 3.75 GiB

[ 2.460557] mmcblk0: p1 p2

Loading, please wait...

[ 2.762168] udevd[43]: starting version 175

[ 2.831173] tsc: Refined TSC clocksource calibration: 399.076 MHz

[ 2.837511] Switching to clocksource tsc

[ 4.318323] ACPI: bus type usb registered

[ 4.351500] usbcore: registered new interface driver usbfs

[ 4.358032] usbcore: registered new interface driver hub

[ 4.471413] usbcore: registered new device driver usb

[ 4.700637] ehci_hcd: USB 2.0 'Enhanced' Host Controller (EHCI) Driver

[ 4.852948] ohci_hcd: USB 1.1 'Open' Host Controller (OHCI) Driver

[ 4.859789] ohci_hcd 0000:00:14.4: OHCI Host Controller

[ 5.037980] ohci_hcd 0000:00:14.4: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1

[ 5.087768] stmmac: Unknown symbol intel_cln_plat_get_mac (err 0)

[ 5.145501] ohci_hcd 0000:00:14.4: irq 16, io mem 0x9000c000

[ 5.241808] stmmac: Unknown symbol intel_cln_plat_get_id (err 0)

[ 5.296447] stmmac: Unknown symbol intel_cln_plat_get_mac (err 0)

[ 5.338114] hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found

[ 5.377988] stmmac: Unknown symbol intel_cln_plat_get_id (err 0)

[ 5.468897] hub 1-0:1.0: 2 ports detected

[ 5.870438] usb 1-1: new full-speed USB device number 2 using ohci_hcd

[ 5.878946] ohci_hcd 0000:00:14.4: bad entry bc92080

It first appears to want to hang here

udevadm settle - timeout of 120 seconds reached, the event queue contains:

/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.4/usb1 (812)

/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.4/usb1/1-0:1.0 (813)

udevadm settle - timeout of 120 seconds reached, the event queue contains:

/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.4/usb1 (812)

/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.4/usb1/1-0:1.0 (813)

Begin: Loading essential drivers ... done.

Begin: Running /scripts/init-premount ... done.

Begin: Mounting root file system ... Begin: Running /scripts/local-top ... done.

udevadm settle - timeout of 10 seconds reached, the event queue contains:

/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.4/usb1 (812)

/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.4/usb1/1-0:1.0 (813)

Begin: Running /scripts/local-premount ... done.

[ 255.998474] kjournald starting. Commit interval 5 seconds

[ 256.005025] EXT3-fs (mmcblk0p2): mounted filesystem with writeback data mode

Begin: Running /scripts/local-bottom ... done.

done.

Begin: Running /scripts/init-bottom ... done.

INIT: version 2.88 booting

[info] Using makefile-style concurrent boot in runlevel S.

mount: /dev not mounted or bad option

[ ok ] Activating swap...done.

[ 321.366882] EXT3-fs (mmcblk0p2): warning: mounting unchecked fs, running e2fsck is recommended

[ 321.400581] EXT3-fs (mmcblk0p2): using internal journal

[ 323.033197] g_serial: Vendor 0x0525 Product 0xa4a7

[ 323.038474] g_serial gadget: Gadget Serial v2.4

[ 323.081912] g_serial gadget: g_serial ready

[info] Loading kernel module pch_udc.

[info] Loading kernel module g_serial.

[ ok ] Cleaning up temporary files... /tmp.

[ ok ] Activating lvm and md swap...done.

[....] Checking file systems...fsck from util-linux 2.20.1

done.

[ ok ] Mounting local filesystems...done.

[ ok ] Activating swapfile swap...done.

[ ok ] Cleaning up temporary files....

[ ok ] Setting kernel variables ...done.

[....] Configuring network interfaces...[ 339.944132] NET: Registered protocol family 10

Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client 4.2.2

Copyright 2004-2011 Internet Systems Consortium.

All rights reserved.

For info, please visit https://www.isc.org/software/dhcp/ https://www.isc.org/software/dhcp/

Cannot find device "eth0"

Bind socket to interface: No such device

Failed to bring up eth0.

done.

[ ok ] Cleaning up temporary files....

INIT: Entering runlevel: 2

[info] Using makefile-style concurrent boot in runlevel 2.

[ ok ] Starting enhanced syslogd: rsyslogd.

[ ok ] Starting periodic command scheduler: cron.

[ ok ] Starting OpenBSD Secure Shell server: sshd.

It is now maybe 10 minutes and still no login prompt:

Will reboot now, with no USB devices plugged in...

I get the login prompt, probably arount time 54.60 seconds.

<p...
KEckh
Valued Contributor III
107 Views

follow on: this morning I tried booting, let it sit for a bit and then just plug in USB hub: this time debug terminal showed a bunch of messages:

that started with:

[ 1546.700428] usb 2-1: new high-speed USB device number 2 using ehci-pci

[ 1546.708365] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, c01fb180/8020 (bad dma)

[ 1546.710043] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, c01fb0c0/c157d5c0 (bad dma)

[ 1546.840683] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, c01fb060/c157d5c0 (bad dma)

[ 1546.851445] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, c01fb120/ce610100 (bad dma)

[ 1546.859451] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qh, ce7e2060/cbc78000 (bad dma)

[ 1546.880682] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, c01fb300/8020 (bad dma)

[ 1546.888341] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, c01fb240/cbc73be0 (bad dma)

[ 1546.897181] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, c01fb1e0/cbc73be0 (bad dma)

[ 1546.905187] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, c01fb360/2 (bad dma)

[ 1546.915432] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, c01fb2a0/2 (bad dma)

[ 1546.922830] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, c01fb420/f808e5 (bad dma)

[ 1546.931431] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, c01fb3c0/f808e5 (bad dma)

[ 1546.939265] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, c01fb4e0/cbc78000 (bad dma)

[ 1546.948079] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, c01fb480/cbc78000 (bad dma)

[ 1546.956086] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, c01fb5a0/eefa6d (bad dma)

[ 1546.978062] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, c01fb540/eefa6d (bad dma)

[ 1546.990389] hub 2-1:1.0: USB hub found

[ 1546.995071] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, c01fb600/9 (bad dma)

[ 1547.000048] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, c01fb6c0/3036fb22 (bad dma)

For the fun of it, will now reboot and try different USB hub. I remember a year or two ago, one of my other linux boards had problems with a specific USB hub, probably a long shot, but...

... Same messages... As I said long shot...

However, I then plugged the USB2AX into it and it did show up as /dev/ttyACM0 likewise when I plugged in an FTDI cable, it added itself as: /dev/ttyUSB0

But again if I look at: dmesg | tail I see

...

[ 259.766910] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, ce847240/c10516cd (bad dma)

[ 259.774919] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, ce847360/c10516cd (bad dma)

[ 259.795023] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, ce847300/c10516cd (bad dma)

[ 259.810191] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, ce8473c0/46 (bad dma)

[ 259.817679] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, ce847480/0 (bad dma)

[ 259.895296] usbcore: registered new interface driver usbserial

[ 259.905082] usbcore: registered new interface driver usbserial_generic

[ 259.932022] usbserial: USB Serial support registered for generic

[ 259.973980] usbcore: registered new interface driver ftdi_sio

[ 259.982908] usbserial: USB Serial support registered for FTDI USB Serial Device

[ 260.003364] ftdi_sio 2-1.4:1.0: FTDI USB Serial Device converter detected

[ 260.013705] usb 2-1.4: Detected FT232BM

[ 260.017607] usb 2-1.4: Number of endpoints 2

[ 260.022131] usb 2-1.4: Endpoint 1 MaxPacketSize 64

[ 260.026989] usb 2-1.4: Endpoint 2 MaxPacketSize 64

[ 260.031995] usb 2-1.4: Setting MaxPacketSize 64

[ 260.037525] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, ce847420/0 (bad dma)

[ 260.041899] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, ce847540/c157d5c0 (bad dma)

[ 260.053527] ehci-pci 0000:00:14.3: dma_pool_free ehci_qtd, ce8474e0/c157d5c0 (bad dma)

[ 260.066762] usb 2-1.4: FTDI USB Serial Device converter now attached to ttyUSB0

Tried again booting with hub plugged in, still hangs at:

[5.131328] ohci_hcd 0000:00:14.4: irq 16, io mem 0x9000c000[5.298331] hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found[5.371396] hub 1-0:1.0: 2 ports detected[5.710551] usb 1-1: new full-speed USB device number 2 using ohci_hcd[5.718812] ohci_hcd 0000:00:14.4: bad entry bd2b080

...

It will probably continue to show some more messages after 2 minutes, and then hang again...

DPose
New Contributor II
107 Views

Kurt this is precisely the same problem exhibited by my board. It looks like there is another report of the same problem from another user as well. Although you seem mostly concerned with the problems surrounding the USB hub, there are equally unhappy problems with the Ethernet adapter. Like I said it looks to me like either improperly compiled symbols or the firmware is setting up the peripherals differently that it does on the boards where the load works properly.

Since the load apparently works on some boards, I think we could rule out improperly compiled driver modules. So could it be firmware? I've programmed embedded controllers since the 80186 and if you set the peripherals up differently in your boot code, then you can expect things to fail ugly later on. It sure smells that way to me.

Does anyone know how to query the firmware version from a bash prompt or some such? StuartAndersonIntel could you tell us what variants of the firmware/board you've tested the load against? We could really use some guidance here.

 

Thx,

Dallas

KEckh
Valued Contributor III
107 Views

Note: I am running version 1.0.4 firmware. I verified it by using the update firmware menu item as part of the IDE. I then let it update it again to make sure...

I am not sure if it would help but I do have an old G1 sitting in a box probably with version 1.0.1 or the like, that i could try....

DPose
New Contributor II
107 Views

Kurt by "IDE" do you mean the Arduino IDE? To me the IDE is Eclipse and the IOTDK. I don't have the Arduino IDE on any of my development boxes though I can certainly install it. Do you know if there is a firmware examination/manipulation tool that can be executed from the console?

We also have a gen1 but it is not in my physical location. If you could try the Debian image on your gen1, the result might be illuminating.

Thx

KEckh
Valued Contributor III
107 Views

Sorry no, I don't know about command line... I believe there is a item in the downloads that talks about updating over serial or the like... But for the most part I have kept either with their IDE and/or on Edison, directly doing stuff on the processor (PuTTY/WinSCP)

FYI - I used my Linux setup which still had the version 1.0.3 of the IDE and downgraded the firmware to 1.0.3

Did not help.

SAnde9
New Contributor II
107 Views

I have a Gen 1 Rev C board running 0.7.5 of the firmware, and a Gen 2 running the 1.0 version of the firmware. I had a Gen 1 running v1.0 for a little while, but was only borrowing it and had to return it.

SAnde9
New Contributor II
107 Views

I've been very busy at work lately, and haven't had time to touch my Galileos or my Edison at all for several weeks. 8-(

I think trying to quantify what does and doesn't work is a good path to go down. I also think there are a couple of different problems here, which may be muddying the waters and making git harder to see the patterns.

Problem 1) USB devices do not show up. I'm not sure whats going on with this. IIRC, there was something about not booting your board with USB devices attached or else bad things can happen. I don't remember the detail or the result, but hopefully someone else will. I have used a UVC Webcam on a Gen 1 board and do not remember any particular problem with it. I don't think I have trued using a USB hub myself.

Problem 2) Modules complain about missing symbols. This sounds like some kind of data corruption. I am unclear on whether or not the system boots to a prompt or now when this happen (I suspect is should, but would be lacking networking, USB based ttys etc.). The one things I have suggested here is to run "update-initramfs -u -k all" once you do get to a prompt. I don't think I seen any replies here of anyone doing this and whether or not it made a difference.

Is there a 3rd symptom that does not falling either one of the above? I thought there might be, but ATM, I cannot remember what it is.

DPose
New Contributor II
107 Views

Stuart et. al.,

The problem that both KurtE and tevin_wang are having above, seems very closely related to my own as the console output is essentially the same. Tevin only shows the output right around the USB puking on itself, but I suspect that a couple of lines above that are identical compaints about missing symbols from the ethernet adapter. To answer your question regarding a system prompt I can tell you that in my case I never reach a full-fledged bash prompt. The system eventually does drop into a crippled-bash-like state in the initial ramdisk image. I can reproduce that console output in this thread if you'd like.

This is where the meat hits the street right here:

[ 4.700637] ehci_hcd: USB 2.0 'Enhanced' Host Controller (EHCI) Driver

[ 4.852948] ohci_hcd: USB 1.1 'Open' Host Controller (OHCI) Driver

[ 4.859789] ohci_hcd 0000:00:14.4: OHCI Host Controller

[ 5.037980] ohci_hcd 0000:00:14.4: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1

[ 5.087768] stmmac: Unknown symbol intel_cln_plat_get_mac (err 0)

[ 5.145501] ohci_hcd 0000:00:14.4: irq 16, io mem 0x9000c000

[ 5.241808] stmmac: Unknown symbol intel_cln_plat_get_id (err 0)

[ 5.296447] stmmac: Unknown symbol intel_cln_plat_get_mac (err 0)

[ 5.338114] hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found

[ 5.377988] stmmac: Unknown symbol intel_cln_plat_get_id (err 0)

[ 5.468897] hub 1-0:1.0: 2 ports detected

[ 5.870438] usb 1-1: new full-speed USB device number 2 using ohci_hcd

[ 5.878946] ohci_hcd 0000:00:14.4: bad entry bc92080

It's the same in Kurt's load and mine and I would bet Tevin's as well. If this is data corruption then it is a very unusual one as it is consistent and only affects certain hardware configurations. My opinion is that this is related in some way to how the board gets configured in early boot code. I could be wrong (and probably am).

How many variants of the Galileo boards (other than GEN1 vs GEN2) have been shipped? Are they silkscreened with specific identifiers or something?

Thx,

Dallas

TWang26
Novice
107 Views

Hi Stuart et. al.,

I still have the same issue like the description from KurtE.

 

I used a USB Ethernet adapter, compiled it's module, loaded the module and it worked very well.

 

And then, I reboot the Galileo (I still plugged the usb adapter on board), when booting it shows:

 

...........

 

[5.435814] hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found

 

[5.526758] hub 1-0:1.0: 2 ports detected

 

[6.134223] usb 1-2: new full-speed USB device number 2 using ohci_hcd

 

[6.334112] ohci_hcd 0000:00:14.4: bad entry c702034

Any help would be appreciated.

 

Thank you.
KLui1
Beginner
107 Views

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this device and I have loaded the 1.2 version of the SD card image onto a Gen 2 board. Does anybody have some pointers on how to get iptables going? I tried building it, but was unsuccessful. Saw that there is a kernel module for 3.2.0, but not 3.8.7. It failed to load when i tried to insmod it, which is probably to be expected.

The iptables package is installed, but I get this when doing an iptables -L

can't initialize iptables table `filter': Table does not exist (do you need to insmod?) 

Perhaps iptables or your kernel needs to be upgraded.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

SAnde9
New Contributor II
107 Views

I just checked, and the iptables stuff is not built in to the kernel. Initially I started out trying to keep it lean, but that probably needs to change. Too many people are comin gup with too many creating things to do with these boards 8-)

A quick attempt at enabling iptables in the kernel config resulted in important stuff being DE-configured, so I'm gonna have to try again when I have a little bit more time. (which unfortunately has been in short supply lately).

Just a reminder to everyone, the source package is in the package repository, so anyone can grab the package and make adjustments themselves. You can also pull it from the git repo in the sourceforge project. Patches for additions are very welcome!

DPose
New Contributor II
107 Views

Oh cool. I didn't realize that the source was up there. Musta had my "mission blinders" on. I'll play with that some.

Thx Stuart!

KLui1
Beginner
107 Views

I tried building the kernel using the SDK vm, but I'm not sure why it won't boot. I used the quark.cfg from the BSP and added all the netfilter, iptables and xtables stuff to the kernel. Am I on the right track? Do you have the .config file you use posted anywhere?

I don't have serial right now, so I can't see what it's outputting... gear is on the way.

Thanks

SAnde9
New Contributor II
125 Views

I just got a few minutes to dig into things again, and I realized that the source in git do NOT have the patches applied, so when you run a build, the configuration comes out all wrong. This is what I ran into last time when I tried to turn on netfilters/iptables. If you are just trying to do a build, then make sure you use quilt to apply the patches (which are located in debian/patches).

ZXiao11
Novice
107 Views

Hi Stuart,

I successfully install the Debian, but I still have few problems here:

I have a wireless router out of my room, when I use the Intel official linux I could use the ethernet port to connect my Galileo Gen 2 via SSH (Putty) as long as I have a arduino sketch to set the IP address. And that linux works perfectly.

Now if I use Debian I cannot do that, first I use net bridge to share my wifi to my ethernet port, thus I could check the IP list on the configuration interface on my router. But after I found the IP address I cannot connect that to the Galileo, Putty returns "Connect refused."

But, otherwise, I have a offline router, I connect my laptop, the galileo and the router to gather a offline network I could directly connect to the Galileo by its IP address.

I noticed that a people above said I could use

sudo service ssh start

to activate the SSH service. But in my case as long as I could use Putty to connect to the board it means the SSH service is activated. But why if I use net bridge the SSH connection will be refused? Can I activate the service when the Debian boot? And how to do that?

Another question is that could I still running arduino sketch under this linux?

SAnde9
New Contributor II
125 Views

Yes, ssh should already be set to start on boot. How are you bridging the two devices? I just noticed that bridging may not be enabled in the kernel (butI'll fix that).

Reply