cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jmccu3
Beginner

Galileo Gen 2 Help with reading the value of a GPIO pin

Hello,

I'm very new to both Linux and the Galileo Gen 2. I am working on a project that will read 5 pins that are connected to a micro-controller. Furthermore, I need these inputs to be a 1 or 0 and accessible inside my c program. The read function I'm using is below and it will print a 1 or 0 to the screen but my file cannot seem to capture the 1 or 0. I've used scanf, getch() and even tried to access the "value" file without success. I've read every tutorial I can find but I'm missing something...like I said I'm new to this so any help will be appreciated.

Thank you,

Jeremy

# include

# include

int main()

{

int PORTS[5] = {40,48,50,52,54};

int i;

int x=1;

int readbuff;

while(1)

{

x=!x;

for(i =0; i<5; i++)

{

char buffer[256];

sprintf(buffer, "echo %d > /sys/class/gpio/export", PORTS[i]);

system(buffer);

sprintf(buffer, "echo in > /sys/class/gpio/gpio%d/direction", PORTS[i]);

system(buffer);

sprintf(buffer, "cat /sys/class/gpio/gpio%d/value",PORTS[i]);

system(buffer);

sleep(1);

}

}

return 0;

}

0 Kudos
4 Replies
FTinetti
Honored Contributor I

Hi jeremy2017,

I suggest you try first using the console as briefly explained at (take a look at the first Pablo reply) so you don't have to compile, and later to include your findings in your .c code once you know you are doing what you need.

I'll try to find some more information on this, since I've not done it before. Maybe you can look for similar threads in this forum too.

Edit: there are several other threads, but they refer to Intel Galileo, not Intel Galileo Gen2, and I think pin numbers are different...

HTH,

Fernando.

jmccu3
Beginner