Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
YYS_S
New Contributor I

How to build kernel modules for edison custom carrier board

Jump to solution

Hi there,

I am fairly new to linux so building an overwhelmingly yocto image is so challenging to me. Nevertheless, with the help of some discussion here and 20+ hours experiments, I figured a way to successfully build a edison image from the latest release (20160606).

My next question is that how to build kernel modules for my sensors on the carrier board?

The sensor I am using is LSM9DS0 and connected to edison via I2C. There are linux drivers from this git: https://github.com/Lahorde/st_lsm9ds0_linux_driver GitHub - Lahorde/st_lsm9ds0_linux_driver: Linux driver for lsm9ds0 IMU. However, I could not find a way to modify the recipes to include this driver to edison image.

It seems possible to build a kernel module for this specific device driver then load the module to yocto system. I got so confused to all kinds of "very much in detailed" manuals, in which the description is challenging to be considered as relevant to edison....

I did read the "BATMAN" post and that does not super helpful to me. Any other suggestions will be highly appreciated.

Thanks,

0 Kudos
1 Solution
YYS_S
New Contributor I

Well, it is been over a month, to conclude, it virtually not possible to have Edison working on a customized board. IFWI is provided as a close source binary. Intel effectively makes it impossible to add new hardware to the image.

Thanks to all the posts here, learnt quite a bit. It is very important to chose a community supported open source platform, as oppose to someone provided binary-blend open source stuff.

View solution in original post

4 Replies
idata
Community Manager

Hello YS,

Thank you for interest in the Intel® Edison Breakout Board.

From what I understand, you made your own Edison image (based on the latest release), and now you want to connect a sensor to your Edison board via I2C.