cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
FSpan
Novice

Serial communication between two Intel Galileo Gen 2

Hi,

I'm new in using Intel Galileo, and I'm trying to connect two Intel Galileo Gen 2 in order to communicate each other.

I've linked pin 0 (rx) of board "A" with pin 1 (tx) of board "B" and viceversa. I've also connected the two ground together.

On the board "A" I've loaded this sketch:

byte b = 0x00;

void setup() {

Serial.begin(115200);

}

void loop()

{

Serial.write(b);

}

On the board "B" I've loaded this one:

byte num;

void setup() {

Serial.begin(115200);

}

void loop() {

if(Serial.available()>0) {

num = Serial.read();

}

Serial.println(num);

}

Obviously, board "B" doesn't receive anything. But why?

Please, help me.

8 Replies
Diego_V_Intel
Employee

Hi FabioCRS4,

In order to send/receive data through the pins 0 and 1 you should use Serial1 instead of Serial.

Regards,

Diego

FSpan
Novice

Hi DiegoV_Intel,

firstly thank you for your answer.

Also using Serial1 instead of Serial, it doesn't work.

FTinetti
Honored Contributor I

Where do you expect the B's Serial.println(num) to be?

Fernando.

FSpan
Novice

In theory, I think the number should be printed on the serial monitor, but I'm not very sure.

FTinetti
Honored Contributor I

FabioCRS4 wrote:

In theory, I think the number should be printed on the serial monitor, but I'm not very sure.

Well, if B's serial port is used for communication with Galileo A, then I think there might be at least a problem. Even assuming physical connection is shared without trouble (both A and the PC having the serial monitor would be connected to B's serial port) I don't know what would happen with the (physical) signals and (logical) characters received at A's serial port, which are generated by Serial.println(num). I don't know how the DiegoV_Intel suggestion would work either.

Fernando.

FTinetti
Honored Contributor I