cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Novice

how to startup automatically my script file in intel galileo gen 2

Hi,

I am a beginner of working in the Intel Galileo Gen 2 board. I am using Eclipse IDE to build the script into the board. I am working in the blinking led projects it worked.

Every time I am using putty to executing the led blink project.

I want when I am switch on the board that led blink project it will be automatically executive.

what is the procedure it will be run automatically my script?

any body know about that please share with me.

we can also share with my mail id: mailto:Chinnasamytcs6007@gmail.com Chinnasamytcs6007@gmail.com

Tags (1)
8 Replies
Highlighted
Employee

Hello chinna007,

If I'm not mistaken, once you upload a script from the Eclipse IDE, the scripts files get stored on /tmp. This directory gets erased every time the board reboots. My suggestion, if you want to get a script that starts automatically on boot, is to compile the script on the board's file system (using gcc or g++, etc.) and create a system service that starts it on boot (using https://www.digitalocean.com/community/tutorials/how-to-use-systemctl-to-manage-systemd-services-and... systemd).

Peter.

Highlighted
Novice

HI Intel_Peter,

I am using Eclipse IDE it will make a image file after build the script file(e.g blink.c file).

I got a blink file. After i am build the blink file into Intel Galileo Gen 2.

It was blinked. that time i plug out the power cable and plug on the power cable it not blinked.

once again i build the same file on the board.

how to run that build file automatically when i am plug up the power.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Employee

If you want the script to start automatically on boot, then you will have to create a system service. I'll give you a brief example on how to do one:

The first thing you will need is your script. Right now, I will use a simple Blink script:

# include

# include

# include