Intel® Moderncode for Parallel Architectures
Support for developing parallel programming applications on Intel® Architecture.

Need help debugging in OpenMP

snoweel
Beginner
I am a 20-year experienced Fortran programmer used to using MPI but I am new to OpenMP. I am having quite a bit of trouble debugging some code that I am trying to run (a coupled weather/land surface model) where I end up getting some NaNs in one particular cell. I am getting completely unexpected behaviors for my outputs. I have located a place where I can WRITE a particular variable and get a NaN (about 15 minutes into the model run). However if I back up a couple of lines and try to WRITE the variable (or anything else), the model runs for an hour and times out. (This same behavior happens at various other places in the code where I try to print stuff out.) There are some OpenMP directives near there like:

!$OMP PARALLEL DO &
!$OMP PRIVATE (ij)

Should that have anything to do with whether I can print out variables, or am I chasing a wild goose? There are also BENCH_START() and BENCH_END() directives which I guess are for some timing diagnostic program.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
TimP
Honored Contributor III
The OpenMP directives aren't likely to have an effect if you don't enable OpenMP compilation. With OpenMP enabled, no doubt they will worsen the effect of program bugs, including, but not limited to, those which you could uncover before compilation by /Qdiag-enable:sc and at run time by /check.
0 Kudos
jimdempseyatthecove
Honored Contributor III

NaN's will generally get created with division by 0 or an operation with other NaN. Other NaN may be the result of operation with NaN or Junk data that resembles NaN. Once NaN is generated it tends to be "sticky" until it is overwritten with non-NaN.