cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Novice

Bluetooth disappearance

Jump to solution

I'll admit up front that I'm a novice. Trying to provision a NUC 8i7HVB. I downloaded a group of drivers using the Driver and Support Assistant. All seemed to go well.

At the end of the process, I noticed that no Bluetooth was present on the system. Device Manager didn't have any Bluetooth listing of any type. So I downloaded the Intel BT driver 21.90.000.64.  Rebooted and still nothing. I'm running Windows 10 64 bit v2004 and I've had Bluetooth before this evening when all this started. My other Windows system uses a Broadcomm driver, should I try that? Is this a NUC problem or a Windows problem, in your opinion.

Thanks for taking a look at this.

p.s. How did this NUC model become an 8i7? In the NUC listings, the various builds seem to be either 7 or 8 depending on the CPU. Just curious.

0 Kudos

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Novice

You identified the problem. When I searched for Bluetooth in the Bios Setup, an unchecked box showed up. When it was checked, Bluetooth came back to life.

I am a novice, but I have built my own PC and grappled with Windows for some years. I have lived with an ASUS bios. So I am roughly acquainted with the guts of a PC, but I would not have guessed how to find the Bluetooth "switch" on the NUC.

Is there a document that informs on the NUC BIOS? The popups are useful, but I would like to acquire a better knowledge of the NUC system. What do you recommend?

Thanks for the tip that solved my problem. Very much appreciated.

Greg Schultz

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Highlighted
Super User Retired Employee

First of all, no, you can't use a Broadcom driver. Those support Broadcom silicon. You have no Broadcom silicon.

Second, have you verified that Bluetooth is not disabled in BIOS Setup (Visual BIOS)? If it is, the device will be hidden and not seen in Windows.