Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
POlso
Beginner

NUC7i3BNB with HDMI Sound problems

Problem: NUC's are attached to a Interactive touch TV and when switching inputs from NUC to whatever and back, the sound gets disable or no longer recognizes the TV as a sound device.

So i work in a school district with alot of Gen 6 NUCs and now Gen 7 NUCs. We have purchased Gen 7 NUC's NUC7i3BNB with BIOS version BNKBL357.86A.0060.2017.1214.2013. I have just updated the BIOS to BN0069.bio and issue continues.

We have these NUCs mounted to Boxlight 75" Touch TV's and whenever the input is changed there is a high chance that when you go back to the input of the NUC that the sound is Red X'd out and cannot be troubleshoot to repaired to work. The only workaround at this time is to UNPLUG the HDMI cable from the TV and plug it back in or Restart the NUC and this is not a solution. All NUCs are using HDMI cables plugged into HDMI 2.0 slots, not 1.4.

I would like to also point that these NUCs have been mounted to 75" NewLine touch TVs and have the same problem. Hence it is a NUC problem. On the BoxLight TV's the BIOS boot shows the color of the screen to be Green and not the typical black that you would see during boot up. Not sure if that is a HDMI issue in general. We also just bought a Type C (NUC) to Display Port cable (TV) and are troubleshooting to see if issue continues this way.

Please see this thread for the attached file from Intel display save file on one of our Boxlight TV's with a NUC attached. communities.intel.com/thread/125277

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
idata
Community Manager

Hello peterohmy,

Thank you for joining our Intel ® Community.

I understand that you are experiencing audio issues when switching the output from your Interactive touch TV.

Just to make sure, the issue happens on both Gen 6 NUCs and now Gen 7 NUCs, right?