Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Beginner

NUC7i3BNK - TypeC to DisplayPort stopped working after 0061 BIOS update

I've been using a Type C to DisplayPort adapter for a few months without issues. I just installed the latest BIOS "BNKBL357.86A.0061.EB" and after the system installed the update and was booting back into Windows, I was getting no output to my monitor. It did install and was logged into the desktop, auto logs in, just wouldn't output anything to the monitor. The monitor kept going into standby mode as if the PC was off. I do have remote access which is why I was able to remote on and see that it was in fact logged in and sitting at the desktop. I disconnected the the adapter, waited a few seconds and then reconnected, thinking that'll reinitialize the display and output. It didn't. The only way to get the Type C port to output again was to temporally connect a monitor using the HDMI port, which popped up immediately. It also reinitialized/turned on the orginal monitor that was using the Type C to DisplayPort, now listed as the 2nd monitor. I removed the HDMI cable and then the Type C port was back as primary and working again.

Is there anything I should do on this system before applying this BIOS update on remote units that are currently configured this way, that hopefully won't require anyone to also connect a HDMI cable to re-enable the Type C port?

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Highlighted
Community Manager

Hello Corum,

Thank you for bringing this matter to the Intel® NUC Community. I am sorry to hear you are having issues with this BIOS version.

For testing purposes, can you please roll back to the previous version and let us know the results. This test will help us to isolate this behavior.

Regards,

Amy C.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Beginner

Can we roll back the latest BIOS version? I thought we can't do that.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Community Manager