Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Beginner

update bios NUC7i3BNK to run cinnamon mint

Hi, i bought a Nuc7i3BNK and i want to run cinnamon mint on it. I learned that before installing the OS this NUC needs an update to the bios. Im a complete noob at things concerning bios so could someone guide me through the process in a way its easy to understand?

If later on i want to change the OS to windows 10, is this still possible?

Thank you, hope someone can help 🙂

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Super User Retired Employee

Re: update bios NUC7i3BNK to run cinnamon mint

The latest BIOS for the BN NUCs can be found here: https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/27734/NUCs-BIOS-Update-BNKBL357-86A-?product=128753 Download BIOS Update [BNKBL357.86A].

The instructions for performing the BIOS update can be found here: http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/boards-and-kits/000005636.html Intel NUC BIOS Update Instructions.

While it seems so much simpler to use the Windows-based Express BIOS Update (EBU) executables, I strongly (strongly!) recommend that you *never*, *ever* use this method. First of all, it regularly screws up and reports non-existent errors (like your BIOS is an "Unsupported Legacy BIOS"). Secondly, I have seen it completely brick the BIOS on a number of occasions and I know that, because this issue occurs so sporadically, the developers have never been able to find the cause. Don't do it. Save yourself the grief.

These are my recommendations for making sure the update process run cleanly:

• Use a USB 2.0 flash disk. There are compatibility issues with some USB 3.0 flash sticks.

[Aside: While it's true that most of these compatibility issues occur during BIOS Recovery processes, it is easier to simply avoid using them for *any* BIOS-related activities.]