Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16597 Discussions

Asynchronous pulse generator code rising edge

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Newbie here. 

I need to generate pulses at rising/falling edges of an input signal. I would like to avoid using an internal clock for this application because parts of my system is inherently asynchronous (for one thing, the clock used to count and do other things changes frequency in time). The width of the pulses is not important, I will not be sampling at more than 1Mhz. 

The code I am failing with is: 

library IEEE; use IEEE.STD_LOGIC_1164.ALL; entity edge_detector is Port ( dclk : in STD_LOGIC; notdclk : in STD_LOGIC; gclk : out STD_LOGIC; gclk2 : out STD_LOGIC); end edge_detector; architecture Behavioral of edge_detector is begin process (dclk,notdclk) begin if (rising_edge(dclk)) then gclk <= '1' after 10 ns, '0' after 20 ns; end if; if (rising_edge(notdclk)) then gclk2 <= '1' after 10ns, '0' after 20ns; end if; end process; end Behavioral;  

Thanks!
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

When you say you are failing, what is actually failing? This code looks OK for simulation, but not synthesis in Quartus. You can't synthesize time delays.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Simulating in Quartus II, the outputs begin high and stay high. Also, I can't say I whether I need to synthesize or not. Honestly, I usually just make a block diagram, hit the compiler button, and program the FPGA or CPLD. My applications have been simple and it seems to have worked for me thus far.  

https://www.alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=13591
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II