Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16597 Discussions

Can't determine definition of operator ""srl""

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hallo 

This is my first project with Altera. I am using the quatras 2 synthesis tool and simulink to generate a design for my FPGA. But when i try to synthesis the code i get the following error 

can't determine definition of operator ""srl"" 

i tried google, but did not get a clear explanation. What i understood is srl is a command to shift right logically. Can any one please explain me in details what is the cause of this problem?
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

It is, but it is only defined for unsigned and signed types. Post the code and we can have a look.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hallo Tricky 

Thanks for the quick reply. Here is my Matlab function for a CIC filter. I get the error on the line where i cast the x. I am not sure if the next parts of the code will also produce some error.  

function y = CIC4FPGA( x ) 

% 4th order CIC filter with 2 times oversampling 

over = cast(2,'int32'); 

x = cast(x/8,'int32'); % this line shows the error 

persistent comb integrator 

if isempty( comb ) 

comb = cast(zeros(4,1),'int32'); 

integrator = cast(zeros(4,1),'int32'); 

end 

xx= cast(zeros(length(x)*over, 1),'int32'); 

y = cast(zeros(length(x)*over, 1),'int32'); 

a = cast(0,'int32'); 

b = cast(0,'int32'); 

% Calculate Comb stage 

for i = 1:length(x) 

a = x(i) - comb(1);  

comb(1) = x(i); 

b = a - comb(2);  

comb(2) = a; 

a = b - comb(3);  

comb(3) = b; 

b = a - comb(4);  

comb(4) = a; 

xx( 2*( i-1) + 1 ) = b; % insert (over - 1) zeros 

end;  

for i=1:length(xx) 

integrator(1) = integrator(1) + xx(i); 

integrator(2) = integrator(2) + integrator(1); 

integrator(3) = integrator(3) + integrator(2);