Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16556 Discussions

Cannot run stimulus module using Quartus Prime?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Attempting to learn Verilog right now. I am currently running through Verilog HDL by Palanatkir and am using Quartus Prime Lite as my current EDA. I am very new at this but just wondering, the book has us code a stimulus block as one of our very first exercises. I cannot figure out how to get Quartus to compile with it, as Quartus just states that the top level block has no logic. 

Here is my code: 

module stimulus; reg clk; reg reset; wire q; R_CC rcc0(q, clk, reset); initial clk = 1'b0; // set clk to 0 always # 5 clk = ~clk; // toggle clk every 5 tu initial begin reset = 1'b1; # 15 reset = 1'b0; # 180 reset = 1'b1; # 10 reset = 1'b0; # 20 $finish; // terminate sim end initial $monitor($time, " Output q = %d", q); endmodule // module - basic building block of Verilog // Ripple Carry Counter module R_CC(q, clk, reset); output q; // io signal and vector decl input clk, reset; T_FF tff0(q, clk, reset); T_FF tff1(q, q, reset); T_FF tff2(q, q, reset); T_FF tff3(q, q, reset); endmodule module T_FF (q, clk, reset); output q; input clk, reset; wire d; D_FF dff0(q, d, clk, reset); not nl(d, q); // not is a Verilog primative endmodule module D_FF(q, d, clk, reset); output q; input d, clk, reset; reg q; // wtf always @(posedge reset or negedge clk) if (reset) q <= 1'b0; else q <= d; endmodule 

Maybe I am using the wrong tool? Should I be using ModelSim or something similar?
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

This is a testbench, and intended to be run in a simulator. Quartus is a tool for compiling code for FPGAs, and not a proper simulator (it does have a very basic simulator, but it doesnt understand testbenches properly)