Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16606 Discussions

Comparison between versions of Quartus II

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am new to Altera FPGAs. What is the difference between Pro, Standard and Lite editions of Quartus II? Also What is the Altera equivalent of Xilinx Chipscope? 

Thanks, 

Arvind Gupta.
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Here are the differences: 

https://www.altera.com/content/dam/altera-www/global/en_us/pdfs/literature/po/ss-quartus-comparison.pdf 

The Altera equivalent of Chipscope is SignalTap.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

OK thanks. From the table it shows that Quartus 2 lite does not have a synthesizer. Is that true. If so, how will HDL description get synthesized to hardware. Also, as per the download page, MegaIPCore library is free with lite edition where as per this table it is not. Which one is true. Pls. note I may be missing something here (I am new to this Altera domain). 

Arvind Gupta.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

It has synthesis. It just does not have Spectra-Q synthesis, which is only available in the Pro version. The standard synthesis engine is fine. Does a great job for 99% of designs. 

All of the basic IP is free (RAMs/ROMs, FIFOs, PLLs, counters, etc.). Only the more complex IP requires a license (e.g., triple-speed Ethernet). I think Cyclone V has hard memory controllers so no worries there. And the HPS has hard Ethernet controllers I assume. You get a lot for your money with the Cyclone parts. Good luck!
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Lite edition only supports the low end devices. For higher end devices you need standard or pro. 

The equivolent of chipscope is signal tap
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II