Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16596 Discussions

Counter Implementation: Using SOPC and NIOS

SS5
Novice

I am new to the Altera Quartus software tool.So Please anyone guide me to accomplish my task.

Design Process involves:

1.  Need to compile 8-bit, or 32-bit or 64-bit counter in Quartus

2. Interconnect the counter module with NIOS using SOPC

3. Want to see counter result in NIOS console

For above design, i Have followed the below step but in NIOS data is not printing in proper sequence (randomly printing). I dont know why ?

VERILOG code

SUB-MODULE

module counter   ( input clk, enable, rst_n, output reg[7:0] count );   always @ (posedge clk or negedge rst_n) begin if (~rst_n) count <= 0; else if (enable == 1'b1) count <= count + 1; end   endmodule module Counter_Top_Level_design ( input clk, input rst_n, output [7:0] out );   wire counter_enable;     counter counter_inst ( .clk ( clk ), .rst_n ( rst_n ), .enable ( counter_enable ), .count ( out ) );   // For simulation, use this instantiation: NIOS_SYSTEM niosii_system_inst ( .clk_clk ( clk ), // clk.clk .reset_reset_n ( rst_n ), // reset.reset_n .enable_external_connection_export ( counter_enable ), // output_pio.export .cout_export ( out ) ); endmodule  

NIOS consoleNios.JPG

0 Kudos
5 Replies
SS5
Novice

I have uploaded Qsys design too. Enable : PIO 1-bit (Output) and cout_export : PIO 8-bit Input

qsys.JPG

0 Kudos
a_x_h_75
New Contributor III

Refer to your other post (please don't duplicate questions...)

https://forums.intel.com/s/question/0D50P000041tK2gSAE/how-to-print-counter-output-in-nios-console-

This behaviour is entirely expected. Your 'printf' statement will take thousands of clock cycles to complete. Meanwhile your 8-bit counter has wrapped many times giving you the appearance of a random output.