Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)

FSM miley machine

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm new to Verilog. I was trying to write the next Finite State Machines (miley machine) in Verilog:  

https://i.stack.imgur.com/9rvCj.jpg  

One of the attached file (called FSM.v) is the program I built in Verilog. I tried some tests (The test program is provided. It's called "FSM_tester.v") but some of them fail. I think its because the always clock block.
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You are assigning a value to 'out' in both always blocks. You can't do this. You need to remove it from the clocked always block into the other. In your case 'out' results in a combinational circuit. Giving it a value in the clocked block is wrong. 

You're also using blocking assignments in your clocked block. Although it makes no odds in your code, it is common practice to use the non-blocking assignment operator. There are perfectly good reasons to use the blocking operator. However, given you'er new to the language I suggest you stick to non-blocking assignments (in clocked always blocks only) until you're more fluent with the language. 

Have alook at "blocking and nonblocking in verilog (http://www.asic-world.com/tidbits/blocking.html)". 

Cheers, 

Alex
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Verilogoz, 

1.Did you Simulate?There is a mapping error in FSM_tester. 

2.Clock should be given at right bock.(Sequential block not at combination block). 

3.Mealy state machine output change when ever there is change in input or state. 

FSM.v