Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16593 Discussions

Fix current auto pin fit to prevent future chang

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Excuse me if my question is silly. I am pretty new to Quartus. 

As I read from an article, it suggests to let quartus fits the pins instead by myself to avoid problem of signal quality. The quartus creats *.pin file to list the fit of pin-out after compilation. I found, it seems some change of HDL code may cause the change of pins fit. I know that I can fix the pin fit manually by the Pin Planner tool of quartus according the pins in .pin file one by one. 

My question is... Is there a method to import the .pin file, let those auto fit pins become user asignments? I know there is a function of "Show Fitter Placement" in the Pin Planner, but it does not seem the function I am looking for. 

Thanks
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You open this dialog box by clicking Back-Annotate Assignments on the Assignments menu. 

Allows you to copy device and resource assignments made during compilation into the Quartus II Settings File (.qsf), thereby preserving the current fit for future compilations. You can use the Back-Annotate Assignments dialog box (Default type) to preserve pin, cell, routing, or device assignments, or you can use the Back-Annotate Assignments dialog box (Advanced type) to preserve LogicLock regions and employ more advanced back-annotation options. You can select the back-annotation type in the Back-annotation type list.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II