Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16606 Discussions

Hello, I am new to Altera and Quartus and I needed help. I'm using Altera EPM3032ATC44-10 on my hardware development board. I have Quartus II 13.0.

CATHA2
Beginner

Hello,

I am new to Altera and Quartus and I needed help. I'm using Altera EPM3032ATC44-10 on my hardware development board. I have Quartus II 13.0. 

I wrote a code in VHDL for one of my company's projects. It was an add-on to one of our existing codes with not a lot of changes to it. It compiles without errors but I see very abrupt and unexpected outputs on my development board. I wanted to know if, if I make any changes to the source code, should I be modifying any other files in it too? Because I,m observing weird outputs when I make even minor changes to the code.

2- Are we supposed to use the .pof file generated to program my CPLD on the development board?

3- How critical is the .sdc file? Is it mandatory to write one? 

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks

0 Kudos
6 Replies
JOHI
New Contributor II

Hello,

Welcome to the forum.

First step, if I had your challenge, would be to compile the existing code and download it.

It would not be the first time someone starts with a bad version and then wonders where the problems came from.

Completing this step would mean that you have the download and compile process under control.

Quartus generates several types of downloadable output files. .Sof & .Pof are 2 of them. .sof = directly downloadable to your fpga, but volatile, .pof = files made for non volatile memory.

Typically you download .sof during development and then, when all is ok, you convert .sof to .pof and download this to some kind of non volatile memory.

.sdc is Quartus info to get timing constraints right. In principle you need this file to get things right.