Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16597 Discussions

Hello. I'm new to FPGAs/CPLDs, and am doing a project with the MAX V 5M160ZE64A5N CPLD and am getting timing failures with a 100MHz clock.

AHoll13
Beginner

The 100MHz clock is clocking I/O and generating time delays in the logic circuit. I have used the Timing Analyzer and SDC file to constrain the clock, as well as the I/O, however I am getting errors with failed timing paths. See attached for the top failing paths from Timing Analyzer.

If I change my clock to 50MHz, I then have no failing paths. However, a 100MHz clock is favourable for my application. My question is, is there a way I can optimise my timing paths so that I can still use a 100MHz clock without timing failures, or is this a limitation which can't be worked around without changing the CPLD or my logic circuit?

Many thanks

0 Kudos
8 Replies
sstrell
Honored Contributor III

Just from that timing report, you have a huge amount of clock skew, almost 5 ns, between the sources and destinations of the failing paths. How is your clocking set up? Have you gated your clocks for some reason?

#iwork4intel

0 Kudos
AHoll13
Beginner

Thanks for the reply. No I haven't gated my clocks, but the clock is fanned out to a total of 96 d-type flip flops.

See attached for my logic diagram. This circuit is duplicated 6 times, all instances of which are identical, but share the same clock.

0 Kudos
AHoll13
Beginner

An update - I have optimised my logic circuit design. I still get timing path failures when using a 100MHz clock, yet a 50MHz clock has zero failed timing paths. However, I now have zero clock skew. See attached my new failing paths in Timing Analyser and new logic circuit (which is again repeated 6 times, with a shared clock).