Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16599 Discussions

How to simulate IP using Modelsim.

TPH_zenith
Novice

I am new to Quartus Prime Pro 20.1. The last time I used Quartus it was Quartus II 13.1. I generated a dual port ram core and I want to simulate it in Modelsim PE. I generated libraries for modelsim using the EDA simulation library compiler. The last time I did this I loaded a VHDL file generated by the megawizard into modelsim along with my VHDL file containing the dual port ram. When I do this now I get an error in modelsim telling me it cannot find the library ram_2port_2010. It appears the dual port ram VHDL file points to this library. What should I do to fix this? I am not a tcl script user.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
RichardTanSY_Intel

For Quartus Prime Pro Modelsim Simulation, you may checkout the User Guide in the link below:
A design example is attached in the user guide as a tutorial for beginner. Search Quartus_Pro_PLL_RAM.zip.

https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/programmable/documentation/yur1496247032051.html

Here's are some brief steps: 

1. After you finished the compilation for your project, go to Tools > Generate Simulator Setup Script for IP.  A file will be generated at your <project directory>/../mentor/msim_setup.tcl

2. Create a new Modelsim project at your project directory.  

3. In the Modelsim transcript window, source the msim_setup.tcl file which was generated in Step 1. Then insert the next two commands to compile the library and ip simulation files.

Modelsim> source msim_setup.tcl
Modelsim> dev_com
Modelsim> com

4. Next, compile your design and testbench files in Modelsim. 

Modelsim> vlog -vlog01compat -work work design.v
Modelsim> vlog -vlog01compat -work work testbench.v