Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16557 Discussions

JTAG error (Unexpected error in JTAG server -- error code 35 and Can't access JTAG chain)

AAAAAAAAAA
Beginner

I have to program a 10M04SCE144C8G FPGA that was already programmed (I have to update the program). For this I got a new computer and installed Ubuntu 20.04, after this I downloaded Intel Quartus Prime Lite 20.1.1 and installed it successfully. I also received a brand new Terasic USB Blaster. After connecting everything and compiling my code with no errors I tried to download it to the FPGA with no success. I have no previous experience with Intel FPGAs, Quartus or the Terasic USB Blaster.

When I open the programmer to download the ".pof" file and hit "start" I get this error:

Error (209053): Unexpected error in JTAG server -- error code 35

Screenshot_2021-03-26_16-02-23.png

After googling for a while I arrived to this link and in FAQ #6 they show exactly my problem. So I tried, as is suggested there, to upload the ".sof" file instead. This time I got a different error

202940 Can't access JTAG chain

Screenshot_2021-03-26_16-03-55.png

Any idea on how to make this work?

0 Kudos
14 Replies
AAAAAAAAAA
Beginner

I discovered that if I use an Altera USB-Blaster II it works perfectly fine. If, after this, I replace the Altera USB-Blaster with the Terasic one, it keeps working until something that I don't know happens, and then it stops working again (this "something that I don't know" is not closing/opening Quartus, it is not logging out and in in Ubuntu). Now it will fail until I program the FPGA once with the Altera USB blaster, then I can go back to the Terasic blaster but I know it will fail at some point and I will have to go back to the Altera blaster.

0 Kudos
YuanLi_S_Intel
Employee