Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16557 Discussions

PowerPlay estimation and asynchronous faster-than-clock signal: no clock domain found

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all, 

I am a newbie and I have a simple task at hand. 

I am working on a simple controller project on a Max3000A series device with an input signal that is faster than the system clock. This signal and the system clock are externally generated using external oscillators and are then fed into the device through a general I/O pin and a dedicated GCLK pin, respectively. The essence of this signal is to be ANDed with another signal internally generated in the device before being ported out of the device as an output pin. It is not intended to pass through any register in the device, only a single AND gate. I believe that makes its operation asynchronous. It is necessary for me to do this so I can obtain the 5kHz signal I need to drive the kind of buzzer I intend to. 

In the power estimation process with PowerPlay Power Analyzer, I get the report that relative toggle rate could not be calculated because no clock domain was found for some nodes in my design and this results in a low confidence level for the estimated power. I think it is because of this 'asynchronous' signal, I am not sure (especially because I don't understand the term 'clock domain', which I will like somebody to help explain to me and, moreso, because I probably haven't represented this signal well in the testbench since it is not supposed to be bounded by the clock). 

I need to know how to get a 'high-confidence' power estimation with the PowerPlay Power Analyzer in a scenario like this. And please remember to explain 'clock domain' too. Thanks. 

Akanimo.
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Hi all,