Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16596 Discussions

Smart compilation disabled by automatic script execution?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I recently used automatic script execution to rename the .sof file at the end of the assembly phase and now I notice that the compiler tool always starts with a new synthesis even though I have smart compilation turned on. 

Is it supposed to work like this or must I have done something else to cause this?
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Calling individual parts of the compile such as quartus_map, quartus_fit, etc. does not utilize smart compilation. Run "quartus_sh --qhelp" and look at the quartus_sh stuff. 

There is an option to determine_smart_action, which it writes to a file. I've never used that before. You can also use "quartus_sh --flow compile", as that should use Smart Recompilation. Of course, it doesn't write out the .sof with the right name. 

You could easily just change the name in Tcl "file copy " or re-run the assembler command line after the final flow, so you'd end up with two .sofs, one with the correct name.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Calling individual parts of the compile such as quartus_map, quartus_fit, etc. does not utilize smart compilation. Run "quartus_sh --qhelp" and look at the quartus_sh stuff. 

--- Quote End ---  

I'm not calling any of these. I'm using post_module_script_file (http://www.altera.com/support/examples/tcl/auto_processing.html) to do a rename in tcl at the end of the assembly phase. I start compilation from the GUI as usual.