Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16557 Discussions

Trouble with programming device under Linux

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

this is my first post here. 

I'm a student from germany, and had a basic course in FPGA programming with Altera Quartus at university for the last half year. We used some university computers with Windows for that. Now I want to do some FPGA programming on my own with a BeMicro CV Cyclone V E Development Kit. As I own a MacBook and prefer unix systems over Windows, I installed Quartus on my native Linux partition. I use the latest Ubuntu Gnome release. The software itself starts without problems (I'm using the 64bit version), but when I try to program my Board I get an error. 

I chose Hardware Setup - USB Blaster variant [1-1.3] and click Auto Detect. Then an error window pops up with the message "Unable to scan device chain. Please check the hardware setup." 

I did everything this (https://www.altera.com/support/support-resources/download/drivers/dri-usb_b-lnx.html) altera guide says. If I type lsusb in the terminal I get: