Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)

Up-down counters

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I'm new to VHDL.. 

i'm creating the up-down counter with async rst and a load enable signal. 

this load enable will determine any number within the range to be entered into the counter whereas the reset signal will reset the counter to the value of the number loaded..my problem is i didn't get the output. 

my code; 

library ieee;  

use ieee.std_logic_1164.all; 

use ieee.std_logic_unsigned.all; 

entity cnt is 

port ( CLK,RST,LE,UD : in std_logic;  

D : in std_logic_vector(3 downto 0); 

Q : out std_logic_vector(3 downto 0)); 

end cnt; 

architecture beh of cnt is 

signal Q_IN : std_logic_vector(3 downto 0);  

begin 

Q <= Q_IN;  

process( RST, CLK, LE, UD, D ) begin 

if RST='1' then  

Q_IN <= "0000";  

elsif CLK='1' and CLK'event then  

--else  

if LE='1' then 

--Q_IN <= D;  

--elsif CLK='1' and CLK'event then  

Q_IN <= D; 

if UD='1' then  

Q_IN <= Q_IN + '1';  

else  

Q_IN <= Q_IN - '1';  

end if;  

end if; 

end if; 

end process; 

end beh; 

please someone help me. 

thanks.
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Can you elaborate what you mean by "I didn't get the output". 

process( RST, CLK, LE, UD, D ) begin if RST='1' then Q_IN <= "0000"; elsif CLK='1' and CLK'event then if LE='1' then Q_IN <= D; if UD='1' then Q_IN <= Q_IN + '1'; else Q_IN <= Q_IN - '1'; end if; end if; end if; end process; 

Your "Q_IN <= D" line will never have any effect - it will always be over-ridden by the +'1' or -'1' lines.