Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16597 Discussions

User how to communicate with Qsys with PCIe?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm studying Altera PCIe solution, and the Qsys design flow should suit for fresh man like me. I looked several examples, and found that all of them don't open interface to user logic, as attached image diagram shows.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Jerry, 

of course you can also use the PCIe solutions like in your blockdiagramm. If you want to use the Avalon MM Master or Slave interface outside of Qsys you have to export it to outside of qsys. An other solution is that you create some Qsys component and simply connect it.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Hi Jerry, 

of course you can also use the PCIe solutions like in your blockdiagramm. If you want to use the Avalon MM Master or Slave interface outside of Qsys you have to export it to outside of qsys. An other solution is that you create some Qsys component and simply connect it. 

--- Quote End ---  

Hi fberndl, 

Thanks for you reply! You mean i can export the on-chip memory outside the Qsys? Then my question is how to control the accessing to that on-chip memory? Since host(computer) and user logic may both want to access it. It seems i need to modify it to a dual-port ram, am i right?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Yeah you are right, if the host computer want to access the on chip memory and your user logic too you need an dual ported on chip memory. (look into my attachment) . But i think when you read some qsys tutorial or going trough an example this should be clear. look into Cyclone V Hard IP for PCI Express User Guide for example, this explains I think the usage for pcie cores.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II