Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)

VHDL "Quantum" bug

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all, 

I hope nobody has written about this before. I took a look but I found nothing... 

I'm a VHDL newbie and I'm facing an issue which is driving me crazy. The thing is that I have designed and implemented a VHDL component, pretty complex if I may say. I coded the RTL model, I refactorized and optimized the code and I checked the RTL netlist to check that it matches with my design. Everything OK. The simulation works as expected too. 

The problem comes when I synthetise the design for my DE0 NANO board. I can see that the design works but some parts don't work as expected. There's clearly a bug. After checking all my code, I found nothing so I just added some out ports to the entity to check them with a logic analyser. Those ports add no logic. I just map some internal signals to them to try to monitor what's going on. 

However, once I map those signals, everything works as expected. No bugs. Nothing. If I remove the debug ports, the problem appears again. 

I don't think this is a speed problem as the maximum frequency I'm using is 1MHz. I also checked all the code and I optimised it for synthesis. I can see using Quartus rtl map viewer that no extra logic is added. 

Any clue of what can be hapening? Why there's no bug if I add debuging ports to my entity whilst the design doesn't work well if I remove those ports? 

Thanks a lot in advance. 

Cheers, 

Javier
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

This sounds like some sort of timing problem - changing the output will change the fit seed and re-route the design, which may now mean that a route that previously failed is a different length that now works.