Intel® SoC FPGA Embedded Development Suite
Support for SoC FPGA Software Development, SoC FPGA HPS Architecture, HPS SoC Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems
444 Discussions

make (e=2): The system cannot find the file specified

pbarry999
Beginner

I am new to the Cyclone SoC and have been trying to get up to speed with tools. I am struggling just to compile a basic hello world. I am using the DE10nano and have gone through their "my_first_hps" tutorial and I come to the make e=2 error. I have tried this on two different PCs. I have also tried the example "Altera-SoCFPGA-Helloworld-Baremetal-GNU" and have also received the e=2 error.

At a minimum I should be able to install and run the example.

This is the out put of the make

/cygdrive/c/intelFPGA/20.1/embedded/examples/software/Altera-SoCFPGA-HelloWorld-Baremetal-GNU
$ make
arm-eabi-gcc -mfloat-abi=softfp -mtune=cortex-a9 -mcpu=cortex-a9 -g -O0 -Werror -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes -c hello.c -o hello.o
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, arm-eabi-gcc -mfloat-abi=softfp -mtune=cortex-a9 -mcpu=cortex-a9 -g -O0 -Werror -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes -c hello.c -o hello.o, ...) failed.
make (e=2): The system cannot find the file specified.
make: *** [hello.o] Error 2

I have run the SoCEDSSetup-20.1.0.711-windows.exe and I have run the soceds-cygwin-setup.bat

I have set the environment variable SOCEDS_DEST_ROOT= C:\intelFGPA\20.1\embedded

0 Kudos
3 Replies
AnilErinch_A_Intel

Hi 

Please make sure that you are inside the SoC EDS shell while you are running the make commands. Your SoC EDS shell needs to be started before running the embedded code. 

Please find the link , below for further reference on how to run EDS under Windows 

https://rocketboards.org/foswiki/Documentation/SoCEDS?t=2020-04-17T22:46:12+00:00

Also below forum post can also help you to debug make file related issue. 

https://community.intel.com/t5/Programmable-Devices/make-lt-e-2-gt-the-system-cannot-find-the-file-specified/m-p/203779