Intel® Software Guard Extensions (Intel® SGX)
Discussion board focused on hardware-based isolation and memory encryption to provide extended code protection in solutions.

Linux Tools and Open Source Development

cory_s_1
Beginner

Linux development tools are coming soon, and whether they will support open source (and license free) development

I had read another post asking when the Linux tools would be released for the SGX chips. An answer of June 2016 was given, which is a tad nebulous. I work as a researcher at a university and we are planning to conduct some work using the SGX instructions, however all the information I have seen so far relating to usage of the development kit has implied that there may be restrictions on what may be done without licensing the SDK.

Are there plans to be friendly towards open source development and how soon in June 2016 will we see some information about the Linux tools?

Cheers!

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Surenthar_S_Intel

Update:

Intel SGX SDK for Linux* OS open source project is now live at:  https://01.org/intel-softwareguard-eXtensions

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
22 Replies
cory_s_1
Beginner

Thanks Surenthar, however I have already read that post. I was just clamoring for more information, haha.

I suppose I will just have to hold tight and await the information. Do you have any reference regarding open source development with SGX? In particular how restricted the SDK will be for non-ISV partners, I have not been able to test things out myself yet since we are holding of on purchasing any hardware until we have more clear information.

0 Kudos
Surenthar_S_Intel

Hi Cory,

The initial code base should be considered ‘Beta’ quality and has been validated on Intel® 6th Gen Core based platforms that support Intel® SGX that is nearing release. It should be ready soon (weeks, not months).

Thanks and Regards,
Surenthar Selvaraj

0 Kudos
cory_s_1
Beginner

Thank you very much Surenthar!

0 Kudos
Surenthar_S_Intel

Update: