Intel® Software Guard Extensions (Intel® SGX)
Discussion board focused on hardware-based isolation and memory encryption to provide extended code protection in solutions.

Question about EPC page encryption in SGX

Insu_J_
Beginner

Dear,

I am studying how EPC page is used in SGX, and I am qurious about the position in which encryption by hardware is done.

https://software.intel.com/sites/default/files/332680-002.pdf
Seeing the 33rd page of this ISCA '15 presentation, it says "Data and code outside CPU package is encrypted and/or integrity checked" and "External memory reads and bus snoops see only encrypted data". This means even EPC page in PRM should also be encrypted, because EPC is also a part of memory.

However, seeing 81st page of the same presentation, it says "When page is reloaded: The processor decrypts, and integrity checks the page, using crypto metadata". This means EPC page contains the plaintext of code or data.

I think these two statements don't make sense by each other. Assuming EPC pages contain decrypted data, attackers can steal the data by snooping memory buses.

Could you explain what is the answer? Where is encryption done?

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Kumar__Dixit
Novice

Hi, Insu J.

Whatever understanding I have so far,

• Data belongs to enclaves, either in the EPC region or in the NON-EPC region is encrypted.
  • When a page swap occurs from the EPC to the NON-EPC region, CPU first decrypts the EPC page, then again encrypts it with a new counter value. Once encryption is done, OS swap the newly encrypted page to the NON-EPC region.
  • To provide a freshness guarantee and protection against replay attacks on enclave data, SGX might be doing multiple encryption/decryption operataion.

Although, I am also not sure about this, for more understanding you can refer: