Intel® Software Guard Extensions (Intel® SGX)
Discussion board focused on hardware-based isolation and memory encryption to provide extended code protection in solutions.

Remote attestation without IAS (offline)

RDrag
New Contributor I

Hello everyone,

I'm pretty new to SGX, still reading through the docs and just tested/compiled some initial examples. Our particular application involves a smartcard connected to an SGX-capable computer. The SGX enclave is supposed to offer additional services (such as network access or certified time) to the smartcard, but the smartcard needs to be sure that the enclave runs authorized software and is not modifying the network traffic in any way (since we can't run a TLS client directly on the card itself).

So I was wondering if the remote attestation process could be run inside the smartcard, without resorting to the IAS. Can the quote issued by the Quotation Enclave be verified somehow offline (on the card in our case) without the IAS or is the IAS absolutely required at this time?

Thank you,

Razvan

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Rodolfo_S_
New Contributor III

Hi, Razvan.

To the best of my knowledge, it is not possible to do what you want there.

Regards,

Rodolfo

0 Kudos
you_w_
New Contributor III

Hi Dragomirescu, Razvan

Is your sgx-enabled computer be able to connect IAS ? There are two ways to do remote attestation:

1. sgx-enabled computer generate msg3 which include the quote(enclave-report), and then send it to sp (here in your situation is smart card), sp communicate with ias and get IAS attestation report.

sgx-enabled computer--->quote===========> smart card===============>IAS-------------->verify IAS report